Autonomous vehicle driving levels.

Autonomous vehicle driving ability can be categorized into six levels, ranging from Level 0 to Level 5, as defined by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) International’s J3016 standard. These levels represent the increasing extent of vehicle automation and the corresponding reduction in human intervention.


1. Level 0 – No Automation:

At this level, the vehicle has no autonomous capabilities, and the driver is responsible for all aspects of driving. The vehicle may include driver assistance systems such as cruise control, anti-lock brakes, and parking sensors, but the driver must remain fully engaged and in control.

2. Level 1 – Driver Assistance:

In Level 1, the vehicle has limited automation capabilities, with single-function systems like adaptive cruise control or lane-keeping assistance. The driver is still responsible for controlling the vehicle but may receive assistance from these systems in specific situations. The driver must remain attentive and ready to take over control at any time.

3. Level 2 – Partial Automation:

At this level, the vehicle can control both steering and acceleration/deceleration in specific driving scenarios, such as highway driving. This is achieved by combining functions like adaptive cruise control and lane centering. The driver must still be attentive and ready to intervene when necessary, as the vehicle may require assistance in certain situations or environments.

4. Level 3 – Conditional Automation:

In Level 3, the vehicle can manage most driving tasks, including steering, acceleration, and braking, without human intervention in certain conditions. However, the driver must remain prepared to take over control when the system requests it or when the vehicle encounters situations beyond its capabilities. Level 3 vehicles may have the ability to change lanes, navigate traffic, and handle emergency braking autonomously.

5. Level 4 – High Automation:

Vehicles at this level can perform all driving tasks without human intervention in specific environments, such as geo-fenced areas, highways, or limited access roads. The vehicle is capable of handling most driving situations and can even manage emergencies without the need for driver input. However, the driver may still take control if desired or if the vehicle is operating outside of its designated environment.

6. Level 5 – Full Automation:

Level 5 represents the pinnacle of autonomous driving technology. At this level, the vehicle is fully autonomous and can handle all driving situations, environments, and conditions without any human intervention. The vehicle can operate without a human driver, and passengers can focus on other activities, such as working or relaxing. The need for traditional driving controls, like the steering wheel or pedals, is eliminated in Level 5 vehicles.


As of my knowledge cutoff date in September 2021, Level 5 autonomy had not yet been achieved. Most production vehicles with autonomous capabilities were at Level 2 or Level 3. However, the technology has been advancing rapidly, and it is possible that higher levels of automation have been achieved or are closer to realization by 2023.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: